Light Rail Manila ONE

Light Rail Manila ONE will be comprised of the 20.7-kilometer Existing System (known as LRT 1) and the 11.7-kilometer Cavite Extension.

The Existing System is currently owned operated & maintained by the Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA), an agency of the Government of the Republic of the Philippines, attached to the Department of Transportation and Communication (DOTC).

Construction of the original 15 kilometers of the Existing System commenced in 1981 with partial commercial operations from December 1984. Full commercial operation at the original 18 Passenger Stations, from Baclaran to Monumento was introduced in May 1985.

A further 5.7 kilometers and two additional Passenger Stations were added to the Existing System at the northern end with full operation between Baclaran and Roosevelt Station commencing on 22 October 2010 (the “North Line Extension” or NLE).

The Cavite Extension, totaling 11.7 kilometers in length, shall consist of elevated guideways throughout the majority of the alignment. The only at grade guideway section shall be located at Zapote, consisting of the Satellite Depot and New Station.

The Cavite Extension shall connect into the Existing System immediately south of the Existing Station at Baclaran and run in a generally southerly direction to Niyog in Cavite City.

The horizontal alignment shall be designed for a design speed of 80km/h for the mainline track; 6okm/h through Stations; and 30km/h for secondary and Depot tracks. The commercial speed of the Cavite Extension shall be 60km/h.

The Cavite Extension shall be designed and constructed to interface seamlessly with the Existing System.